This site uses cookies in order to enhance your surfing experience

"The Edge of Guillotine" is the 2021 image of BBK Mendi Film Bilbao-Bizkaia

The photography "The Edge of Guillotine", by Czech photographer Jan Zahula, has won the BBK Mendi Film Bilbao-Bizkaia Poster Award at the CVCEPHOTO contest, for which it will be the main image of this year's festival.

The setting in the image places us in the Elbe Valley, in the Bohemian Switzerland region of the Czech Republic. A paradise of rocks and sandstone mountains, on one of whose sharp edges the American climber Jenny Fischer appears climbing the "Guilotina VIIb" route.
Some story behind the image:
  • Photographer_ Jan Zahula
  • Location: Labské údolí, Czech Republic
  • Climber: Jenny Fischer
  • Route: Gilotina, grade VIIb (czech sandstone grading), FA 1978
  • Jan Zahula: "Jenny choose and climbed this aesthetic route some weeks before and she wanted to shoot some pics while climbing it. We met there for a slightly different assignment, but this one is the favorite shot of that day".
  • Camera: Sony A7III
  • Lens: Tamron 17-28 f/2.8 shot at 18mm
  • EXIF: 1/250s, f/2.8, ISO 100
This is, therefore, the image of the poster for the 14th edition of BBK Mendi Film Bilbao-Bizkaia, suited with the main sponsors of the festival: Provincial Council of Bizkaia, Bilbao City Council and the BBK Foundation.

For the seventh consecutive year, the Club Vasco de Camping Elkartea from Donostia-San Sebastián has organized the mountain activity international photo contest CVCEPHOTO, in which since 2017 the prize for the image of the Mendi Film poster has been awarded, endowed with € 700.

Mendi Film posters via CVCEPHOTO:

2020: INTO THE LIGHT, Sandi Bertoncelj

2019: TOP OF AFRICA, Christian Pondella

2018: LEARNING TO FLY, Rainer Eder

2017: THE LIGHTHOUSE, Christoph Jorda

The 7th CVCEPHOTO awards ceremony will be held on May 29 at 6:00 p.m. at the Teatro Principal in San Sebastián, in an event open to the public, with reduced capacity. The winner was the Polish Marcin Ciepielewski, with his photograph "The X", the second prize went to the French Alex Buisse, with "Moulin" and the third prize went to the Italian Alessandro Cantarelli with the photo "Lavaredo's Gloria" . The seventh edition has brought together the work of 372 authors from 58 countries, who have submitted a total of 952 photographs.


Erakundeak / Instituciones / Institutions



Ama Dablam


Laguntzailea / Colaborador

 Auto ofiziala / Vehículo oficial 

Media Partners

© 2021 Mendi Film. Cookies - Legal - Privacy